Logo Hagenkötter Edelstahl

Hagenkötter’s manganese steel (1.3401/X120Mn12)

Manganese steel - also known as hard manganese steel or manganese hard steel – in its quenched state has the characteristic of significantly increasing its original low tensile strength and hardness in the cold-worked layer by intense cold working without this having an adverse effect on the originally very high durability. The cold working performed increases the wear-resistance enormously. It can be bent, flanged and pierced because of its high durability. Chipping at room temperature with hard metal tools is only possible to a limited extent.

Typical manganese steel products are, for example, hangers in blasting machines, crusher jaws, crusher jaw inserts, power shovel bolts, power shovel connectors, gripping teeth, striking elements in impact mills and centrifugal mills. It is also used in security systems (protective grills, doors, cladding, safety plates). It is used generally for intense percussion and impact stresses.

Manganese steel can be welded both electrically and autogenously. Electrical welding is, however, preferred because with autogenous welding procedures, burn-off of manganese and carbon may easily occur. Shielded electrodes at 0.8% - 1.0% C and 15 - 18% Mn must be used for electric welding. The wear resistance is somewhat lower at the weld seam than with the remaining material.

Delivery schedule

We supply manganese steel from our stocks in round measurements from 6 - 80 mm, in sheet thicknesses of 1.5 - 30 mm and flat material in all cross sections - rolled or as a flame cut - within a few days. 

Custom production

However, we not only supply the raw material but will also be delighted to manufacture your finished part in accordance with your specification drawing or in accordance with measurements taken at your premises.

Examples of manganese steel products

Describe your wear problem to us and use our experience in processing and machining manganese steel.

Material data sheet 1.3401

DIN AISI BS AFNOR UNI
1.3401 A 128 BW 10 Z 120 M 12 X 120 Mn 12

Chemical composition

C Mn Si P S
1,10 - 1,30 12,00 - 13,00 0,30 - 0,50 max. 0,100 max. 0,04

Mechanical properties at room temperature

Dimensions Yield point N/mm² Tensile strength N/mm² Ductile yield (Lo=5do) Contraction %
<= 16 mm >= 410 680 - 1180 >= 40 >= 40
17 mm - 40 mm >= 390 830 - 1080 >= 42 >= 40
41 mm - 100 mm >= 345 780 - 1080 >= 45 >= 45

Thermoforming

Treatment temperature: 1100 - 850 ºC
Cooling in water

Ordering manganese steel

The prices and delivery conditions for manganese steel are based on various parameters, such as dimensions and quantity.
We would be delighted to prepare a quotation just for you.

Contact us at: +49 212 24845-0

Logo Hagenkötter Edelstahl

Manganstahl (1.3401/X120Mn12) von Hagenkötter

Manganstahl – auch als Hartmanganstahl oder Manganhartstahl bekannt – besitzt im abgeschreckten Zustand die Eigenschaft, durch eine starke Kaltverfestigung seine ursprünglich niedrige Zugfestigkeit und Härte in der kaltverfestigten Schicht wesentlich zu erhöhen, ohne dass die anfangs vorhandene sehr hohe Zähigkeit ungünstig beeinflusst wird. Die eintretende Kaltverfestigung steigert enorm den Verschleißwiderstand. Durch seine hohe Zähigkeit kann Biegen, Bördeln und Lochen durchgeführt werden. Eine Zerspanung bei Raumtemperatur mit Hartmetallwerkzeugen ist nur begrenzt möglich.

Typische Produkte aus Manganstahl sind beispielsweise Gehänge in Strahlanlagen, Brechbacken, Brechbackeneinlagen, Baggerbolzen, Baggerbuchsen, Greiferzähne, Schlagelemente in Schlag- und Schleudermühlen. Weiterhin erfolgt der Einsatz im Bereich der Sicherheitstechnik (Schutzgitter, Türen, Verkleidungen, Sicherheitsbleche). Allgemein für Verwendung bei starken stoß- und schlagartigen Beanspruchungen.

Manganstahl ist sowohl elektrisch als auch autogen schweißbar. Da beim Autogen-Schweißverfahren leicht ein Abbrand an Mangan und Kohlenstoff eintreten kann, ist die elektrische Schweißung jedoch vorzuziehen. Für Elektroschweißung sind umhüllte Elektroden mit 0,8% - 1,0% C und 15 - 18% Mn zu verwenden. Die Verschleißfestigkeit ist an der Schweißnaht etwas geringer als beim übrigen Material.

Lieferprogramm

Wir liefern Manganstahl aus unserem Lagervorrat in Rundabmessungen von 6 - 80 mm, in Blechstärken von 1,5 - 30 mm sowie Flachmaterial in allen Querschnitten – gewalzt oder als Brennzuschnitt – innerhalb weniger Tage. 

Individualanfertigung

Wir bieten jedoch nicht nur das Rohmaterial an, sondern stellen auch gerne Ihr Fertigteil gemäß Ihrer Vorgabezeichung oder nach einer Maßaufnahme bei Ihnen vor Ort her.

Beispiele für Manganstahlprodukte

Schildern Sie uns Ihr Verschleißproblem und nutzen Sie unsere Erfahrung in der Ver- und Bearbeitung von Manganstahl.

Werkstoffdatenblatt 1.3401

DIN AISI BS AFNOR UNI
1.3401 A 128 BW 10 Z 120 M 12 X 120 Mn 12

Chemische Zusammensetzung

C Mn Si P S
1,10 - 1,30 12,00 - 13,00 0,30 - 0,50 max. 0,100 max. 0,04

Mechanische Eigenschaften bei Raumtemperatur

Abmessung Streckgrenze N/mm² Zugfestigkeit N/mm² Bruchdehnung (Lo=5do) Einschnürung %
<= 16 mm >= 410 680 - 1180 >= 40 >= 40
17 mm - 40 mm >= 390 830 - 1080 >= 42 >= 40
41 mm - 100 mm >= 345 780 - 1080 >= 45 >= 45

Warmformgebung

Behandlungstemperatur: 1100 - 850 ºC
Abkühlung in Wasser

Bestellung Manganstahl

Die Preise und Lieferbedingungen für Manganstahl basieren auf verschiedenen Parametern, wie Abmessungen und Menge.
Gerne erstellen wir Ihnen ein individuelles Angebot.

Sprechen Sie uns an: +49 212 24845-0